Academics Admission Student Life Athletics About Agnes Scott Alumnae Giving Employment Home

You are here: McCain Home > Need Help? > Guide to Library Research > Encyclopedias

McCain Library

Guide to Library Research

Encyclopedias in the Reference Area of the McCain Library: A Selective Guide

GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Academic American Ref. AE 5 .A23 1985
Encyclopedia Americana Ref. AE 5 .E333 1997
Encyclopedia Britannica part of the database offerings in GALILEO via GALILEO
Colliers Ref. AE 5 .C683 1993
World Book Ref. AE 5 .W55 1993

SELECTED SPECIAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS

 
Art and Music  
The Dictionary of Art Ref. N 31 .D5 1996
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians part of the database offerings in GALILEO Ref. ML 100 .N48 1980
New Grove Dictionary of American Music Ref. ML 101 .U6 N48 1986
New Grove Dictionary of Jazz part of the database offerings in GALILEO Ref. ML 102 .J3 N48 1988
Film It With Music: an Encyclopedic Guide to the American Movie Musical Ref. PN 1995.9 .M86 H57 2001
Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre Ref. M 102 .M88 G3 2001
Women and Music in America Since 1900 Ref. ML 82 .W625 2002
   
Economics  
New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics Ref. HB 61 .N49 1987
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History Ref. HC15 .O94 2003
   
History and Culture  
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust Ref. D 804.3 .E53 1995
Dictionary of American History Ref. E 174 .D52 2003
Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century Ref. E 169.1 .E626 2001
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Supreme Court Ref. KF 8742.A35 E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture Ref. F 209 .E53 1989
New Georgia Encyclopedia part of the database offerings in GALILEO via GALILEO
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History Ref. E 185 .E54 1996
Encyclopedia of Black America Ref. E 185. E55
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups Ref. E 184 .A1 H35
Encyclopedia of World Cultures Ref. GN 307 .E53 1991
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia Ref. DS 4 .E53 2002
Cambridge Encyclopedia of China Ref. DS 705 .C35
Cambridge Encyclopedia of India Ref. DS 334.9 .C36 1989
Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Middle East Ref. DS 44 .C37 1988
Encyclopedia of Cuba: People, History, and Culture Ref. F 1754 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements Ref. KZ 4968 .O84 2003
   
Literature  
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature Ref. PS 21 .O94 2004
American Women Writers Ref. PS 141 .A45
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama Ref. PN 1625 .M3
Encyclopedia of Southern Literature Ref. PS 261 .S515 1997
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature Ref. PQ 7081 .A1 E56 1997
   
Philosophy and Religion  
Encyclopedia of Philosophy Ref. B 41 .E5
Encyclopedia of Bioethics Ref. QH 332 .E52
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Ref. B 802 .E53 2003
Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics Ref. BL 31 .E4
Encyclopedia of Religion Ref. BL 31 .E46 1987
New Catholic Encyclopedia Ref. BX 841 .N44 2003
Encyclopedia Judaica Ref. DS 102.8 .E496 1971
New Encyclopedia of Judaism Ref. BM 50 .E63 2002
Encyclopedia of Women and World Religion Ref. BL 458 .E53 1999
   
Sciences  
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry Ref. QD 451 .E539 2001
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Ref. Q 121 .M3 1997
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia Ref. Q 121 .V3 2002
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals Ref. QL 701 .G7913 1990
Encyclopedia of Evolution Ref. QH 360.2 E54 2002
Life on Earth: an Encyclopedia of Biodiversity, Ecology, and Evolution Ref. QH 541.15 .B56 L54 2002
Encyclopedia of Global Change Ref. GE 149 .E445 2002
Environmental Encyclopedia Ref. GE 10 .E38 2003
   
Social Sciences  
Encyclopedia of Psychology Ref. BF 31 .E53 2000
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences Ref. H 40 .A2 I5
Encyclopedia of Sociology Ref. HM 17 .E5 1992
Encyclopedia of American Social History Ref. HN 57 .E58 1993
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender Ref. HQ 1115 .E52 2001
International Encyclopedia of Education Ref. LB 15 .I569 1994
Encyclopedia of Educational Research Ref. LB 15 .E48 1992
   

Contents

Introduction

Find & Develop a Topic

Find Background Info

Find books

Find Periodicals

Evaluate What You Find

Cite What You Use

 

McCain Home | About the Library | Resources for Research | Need Help? | Services | Collections
Search | A-Z Index | Site Map | Ask Online


Agnes Scott College McCain Library Copyright ©2005
141 East College Avenue Decatur, GA 30030-3797
URL: http://library.agnesscott.edu | Contact McCain Library
IM: ASCLibrarian on AOL and Yahoo!