Academics Admission Student Life Athletics About Agnes Scott Alumnae Giving Employment Home

You are here: McCain Home > Need Help? > Guide to Library Research > Find Background Info

McCain Library

Guide to Library Research

Finding Background Information

Once you have identified the main topic and keywords for your research, find one or more sources of background information to read. These sources will help you understand the broader context of your research and tell you in general terms what is known about your topic. The most common background sources are encyclopedias and dictionaries from the reference collection. Textbooks also provide background information.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

  • You can find encyclopedias and dictionaries for specific topics by using SOPHIA, the McCain Library Catalog, by consulting the list of selected encyclopedias located in the reference area, or by asking a librarian to suggest appropriate titles.

Bibliographies

  • Read the background information and note any useful sources (books, journals, magazines, etc.) listed in the bibliography at the end of the encyclopedia article or dictionary entry. The sources cited in the bibliography are good starting points for further research.
  • Look up these sources in SOPHIA. Check the subject headings listed in the subject field of the record in the catalog. Then use those subject headings to locate additional titles.
  • Remember that many of the books and articles you find in the McCain Library Catalog and periodical indexes will themselves have bibliographies. Check these bibliographies for additional relevant resources for your research.

By using this technique of routinely following up on sources cited in bibliographies, you can generate a surprisingly large number of books and articles on your topic in a relatively short time.

 

 

Contents

Introduction

Find & Develop a Topic

Find Background Info

Find books

Find Periodicals

Evaluate What You Find

Cite What You Use

 

McCain Home | About the Library | Resources for Research | Need Help? | Services | Collections
Search | A-Z Index | Site Map | Ask Online


Agnes Scott College McCain Library Copyright ©2005
141 East College Avenue Decatur, GA 30030-3797
URL: http://library.agnesscott.edu | Contact McCain Library
IM: ASCLibrarian on AOL and Yahoo!