Guide to Library Research
Introduction: The Research Process
The following steps outline a strategy for finding information
for a research paper and documenting the sources you
find. Depending on your topic and your familiarity with the library, you
may need to rearrange or recycle through these steps. Follow the links
for more information. Once you have found the information you need, use
the resources of the Writing
Center for assistance with writing your paper.
Find & Develop a Topic
State your topic as a question. For example, if you are interested
in finding out about use of alcoholic beverages by college students,
you
might pose the question, "What effect does use of alcoholic beverages
have on the health of college students?" Identify the main concepts
or keywords in your question. More...
Find Background Information
Look up your keywords in the indexes to subject encyclopedias.
Read articles in these encyclopedias to set the context for your research.
Note any relevant items in the bibliographies at the end of the encyclopedia
articles. Additional background information may be found in your lecture
notes, textbooks, and reserve readings. More...
Find Books About Your Topic
You may access the online catalog for McCain Library (SOPHIA)
via any networked campus computer. The main cluster of library computers
is located on level 3 near the circulation desk. Terminals are also
located throughout the building. You may also access the catalog remotely
if you
are using a computer with internet access or a modem. More...
Find Periodical Articles
Use periodical indexes and abstracts to find citations to articles.
The indexes and abstracts may be in print or computer-based formats
or both.
Choose the indexes and format best suited to your particular topic;
ask at the reference desk if you need help figuring out which index
and format
will be best. More...
Evaluate What You Find
Critically analyze information sources to evaluate the authority and
quality of the books and articles you located. If you have found too
many
or too few sources, you may need to narrow or broaden your topic. Check
with a librarian or your instructor. More...
Cite the Material You Used
Format the citations in your bibliography using examples from the
Modern Language Association (MLA) or American Psychological Association
(APA)
standards. More...
If you are writing an annotated bibliography, see How
to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography.
Research tips:
- Work from the general to the specific. Find background information
first, then use more specific and recent sources.
- Record what you found and where you found it. Write out a
complete citation for each source you find; you may need it again later.
- Translate your topic into the subject language of the indexes
and catalogs you use. Check your topic words against a thesaurus
or subject heading list.
Need help clarifying your topic? Need ideas about where to look
next? Want to be sure you're using a reference source effectively? Ask
a Librarian!
|